Alice Blanchard is the award-winning author of "A Breath After Drowning," "Darkness Peering" and "The Breathtaker." She has received a PEN Award, a New Letters Literary Award, a Centrum Artists-in-Residence Fellowship, and a Katherine Anne Porter Prize for Fiction. Her thriller, "The Breathtaker," was an official selection of NBC’s Today Show Book Club. "Darkness Peering" was a New York Times' Notable Book and a Barnes & Noble Best Mystery. Her work has been published in 17 countries.

Coming this December, Minotaur Books at St. Martin's Press will publish the first of two novels in Alice's new Natalie Lockhart series, "Trace of Evil," which follows a female rookie detective investigating the murder of a popular high school teacher that has eerie ties to the murder of a teenage girl 20 years ago. The series will unearth an even darker story involving a history of witch accusation and obsession with black magic deep in the woods of the idyllic suburban community of Burning Lake, New York.

“My goal is to write fiction that marries the sweeping scope of the thriller with the more personal epiphanies of the short story.”

All contents of this site are protected by copyright laws. 

Posts written by Alice Blanchard.

Website Design and Blog Photography by DH Dowling.

Author photograph by DH Dowling.

Vintage photographs from the collection of Alice Blanchard.